Universal Claims Certification (UCC)
Alabama, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Indiana and Mississippi. Texas has approved the UCC pre-certification course and exam as an approved pre-licensing course and exam. UCC continuing education satisfies the Texas continuing education requirement.
No, the Universal Claims Certification (UCC) is a certification.
Licensed adjusters with a home state that requires passing an exam do not have to complete the UCC’s online 40-hour pre-certification program or exam. They simply complete the online UCC registration.
Unlicensed adjusters and those with a home state license from a state that does NOT require passing an exam, must complete the UCC’s online 40-hour pre-certification program and pass the exam before they may secure a UCC.
The UCC exam is delivered virtually via a secure online exam delivery system.
Yes, a live proctor is required.
The UCC examination is offered within 4 testing windows per calendar year and may be taken anytime during the testing window:
April 15th - June 15th
July 15th - September 15th
October 15th - December 15th
You may print your certificate by accessing your UCC Dashboard and downloading it.
Twenty-four months from the date of certification.
Yes, the UCC is certification that you qualify to have a license in the states that accept the UCC, but you must still apply for your license in each state. Once you have your UCC, applications for additional adjuster licenses can be submitted via the CLM license tracking portal, CLM Tracker. The process in Florida is somewhat different. See next question.
Once you have your UCC, in Florida only, you need to apply for your license directly on the State of Florida’s portal. You will also need to submit finger prints by following these instructions.
A. Alabama will begin accepting electronic UCC based adjuster applications effective January 1, 2020.
Q. Does California accept electronic designated home state applications?
A. Currently, California is not accepting electronic designated home state (DHS) applications. Adjusters with DHS licenses will need to submit a paper application and payment. The form can be found here: http://www.insurance.ca.gov/0200-industry/0050-renew-license/0200-requirements/insurance-adjuster.cfm
Alabama, California, Florida, Georgia, and Texas may require finger printing. To complete your licensing process in each of those states.
Q. Can I apply and/or renew licenses in all states via CLM Tracker?
A. At this time Tracker does not support applications or renewals for Hawaii, New York or Washington . Please visit the links below for application instructions:
Licensed Adjusters: $69 ($49 for adjusters employed by a CLM Corporate Member Company). The UCC is valid for two years.
Unlicensed Adjusters: $199 (for pre-certification course, exam and 2-year registration). $149 (for adjusters employed by a CLM Corporate Member Company). The UCC is valid for two years.
$69 ($49 for adjusters employed by a CLM Corporate Member Company)
A. $89 ($69 for adjusters employed by a CLM Corporate Member Company.)
Twenty-four hours;19 hours of general credit and 5 hours of law and ethics.
All tracking can be done via the UCC portal.
Beginning Sept. 1, 2019, all CLM events and conferences will be offering UCC CE. Any approved UCC CE provider can also file for CE credits for training they are conducting. A full list of UCC-approved CE is available here.
The Texas statute will begin accepting UCC continuing education credits taken on or after January 1, 2020.