UCC Criteria

Universal Claims Certification (UCC)

UCC Process

Claims professionals (Company and Independent Adjusters only - this does not apply to Public Adjusters) can secure a UCC by following one of these tracks.
Currently Unlicensed Adjusters
If you are new to the industry or do not currently hold an adjusters license in any state, you must complete both the UCC’s 40-hour pre-certification program and exam.

Currently Licensed Adjusters
If you hold a current resident or home state adjuster's license, you are exempt from the UCC’s 40-hour pre-certification program and exam. Please note, anyone seeking to qualify for an Alabama, Arizona or Florida adjuster license solely by virtue of holding the UCC Certificate must complete the UCC's online 40 hour pre-certification program and pass the exam

Obtaining Your Licenses
The UCC is not a license, it is a certification that satisfies certain licensing requirements in several states that have approved the UCC. Those who hold the UCC must obtain licenses with each state in which they intend to work.
To streamline the licensing process, licenses can be secured via the UCC portal rather than going to each state individually. After obtaining a UCC, individuals may select all states in which they are practicing and pay the associated state-determined fees. The process and payment may be completed online and following payment and issuance of the license, Individual and Company Claim Adjusters will be permitted to handle claims in the associated states.

UCC applicants seeking a resident or designated home state license in Texas must first complete the UCC precertification course before applying for licensure in Texas. UCC holders seeking a nonresident adjuster license in Texas must submit an application for review and approval by the TDI. 

Maintaining Your Licenses
The UCC is valid for two years and expires on the UCC recipient’s birthdate. To renew the UCC, each professional must complete a minimum of 24 hours of continuing education courses, including five hours of law and ethics courses.
You may visit CLM’s UCC Courses page to find eligible UCC courses.

Excess CE may be carried over to the next term and will be applied as general credit. You may not repeat the same course within 2 years from the original course completion date.

CE Providers
Only continuing education approved by the UCC CE Team can be used to satisfy the UCC continuing education requirement. Any company, organization, or individual may submit continuing education programs for approval.