Universal Claims Certification (UCC)

General Information

The process of licensing independent and staff insurance adjusters has been unnecessarily complex for decades. Most adjusters handle claims in multiple states and are burdened with maintaining multiple licenses and tracking the different renewal criteria for each license. The current system also limits the flexibility needed when a natural disaster occurs and a large number of adjusters are needed promptly in a specific state. Many qualified adjusters are unable to assist in these situations until they can go through that state’s licensing process.

The UCC addresses those issues while protecting the public's interests and providing a universal certification that maintains consistent requirements, governance, and continuing education standards. The UCC was developed utilizing the most stringent states’ requirements and regulations.
Under the UCC, all new Independent and Company Claim Adjusters will:
•    Register
•    Complete a 40-hour pre-certification online education program
•    Successfully pass an examination

If you hold a current home state license, you are exempt from the UCC's 40-hour pre-certifcation program and exam, however you must complete the UCC online registration form. The UCC will be valid for two years. To renew a UCC, all Independent and Company Claim Adjusters must:
•    Satisfactorily complete a minimum of 24 hours of continuing education, including five hours of law and ethics.
The UCC is not a license and individuals must obtain licenses directly with each state requiring licensure. For states that recognize the UCC, individuals will not need to complete the state's pre-licensing course, exam or maintain the state's continuing education requirements, as these items have been met by maintaining the UCC.

The UCC is approved in the following states:
•    Alabama
•    California
•    Florida
•    Georgia
•    Mississippi
•    Texas